What to do with souvenirs? Turn flags and t-shirts into pillow cases

My collection of flags started in Mexico when my friend Mario gave me a Mexican flag. Being back home in the Netherlands again, one day my mum surprised me with a present: she had turned the flag into a pillow case. I loved the idea! Now I could use the Mexican flag pillow to decorate my couch, and think back of my great time in Mexico while relaxing. Recently, when I was cleaning out my closet I discovered I collected more flags during my travels. Also I had a couple of t-shirts I was very fond off, but I didn’t wear them. Because of the memories I couldn’t throw them away, and immediately thought of the great idea of my mum to turn them into pillow cases.

pillows2

I wouldn’t really call this a DIY project, as I don’t know how to use a sewing machine. Luckily, I’ve got a great mum that doesn’t mind doing me the favour. If you aren’t handy with a sewing machine either ask a family member or go to a tailor in town.

Stitch a piece of fabric to the flag or t-shirt

To turn the flags and t-shirts into a pillow case, my mum stitched a red fabric at the back of it. One side is left open to put the pillow in.

Pillows come in different sizes

Take into account what the size of your pillow case should be. As you can see the pillows have different sizes. The standard size of small pillows is often 40×40 or 50×50 cm, and for bigger pillows it’s 60×70 or 40×60 cm. If you already have some inner cushions at home, measure them to find out what size they are. New you can buy them for example at Ikea. Surprisingly they are called Inner 😉

Pillows add a personal touch

The great thing with these cushions is that they add a personal touch to your place without having to do a big make over. I recently moved to a new place, and didn’t want to paint my room, but with the pillows on my bed it immediately felt like home.

Leave a Reply

